• Home Page
  • Mission
  • Young Scientist
  • Board and Experts Groups
  • Events
  • Environmental Biotechnology
  • Strategic papers
    and documents
  • News
  • Useful links
  • Contact/Join us

  • The Environmental Biotechnology section of EFB has more than 3,300 subscribers (800 active members) and is led by the section board and groups of experts consisting of above 50 members coming from academia, research centers, governmental institutions and companies from European countries. The section is keen to welcome new members.

    Section Board:

    Prof. Dr. Philippe Corvini
    Institute for Ecopreneurship, School of Life Sciences, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW)
    Gründenstrasse 40,4132 Muttenz, Switzerland.
    Phone:+41 61 467 43 44
    E-mail: philippe.corvini[at]fhnw.ch
    Web page: http://www.fhnw.ch/personen/philippe-corvini/

    Co-Chair - technology transfer and relations with stakeholders:
    Prof. Dr. Fabio Fava
    Department of Civil, Chemical, Environmental and Materials Engineering (DICAM)Alma Mater Studiorum-Università di Bologna (University of Bologna)
    Via U. Terracini 28, 40131 Bologna, Italy.
    E-mail: fabio.fava[at]unibo.it
    Web page: http://fabiofava.people.ing.unibo.it

    Co-Chair - scientific issues and academic relations:
    Prof. Dr. Spyros Agathos
    University of Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve
    BelgiumPlace Croix du Sud 2/19, B-1348 Louvain-la-Neuve. Belgium.
    Web page: http://www.uclouvain.be/en-gebi.html

    Dr. Valter Tandoi
    CNR - Water Research Institute
    Area della Ricerca Roma 1 Montelibretti, Via Salaria km 29, 30000015 Monterotondo (RM) Italy.
    Phone: +39 06 90672782; +39 06 90672769
    E-mail: environ.biotech.EFB[at]irsa.cnr.it
    Web page: http://www.irsa.cnr.it/

    Expert groups:

    Experts from European countries
    Name Affiliation Country
    Andreas Loibner BOKU, Wien Austria
    Ludo Diels
    Willy Verstraete
    VITO, Mol
    Ghent University, Ghent
    Venko Beschkov Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia Bulgaria
    Katarina Demnerova
    Vladimir Brenner
    Tomas Cajthaml
    University of Prague, Prague
    AECOM, Prague
    Charles University, Prague
    Czech Republic
    Thomas Schafer
    Jens Aamand
    Novozymes, Bagsvaerd
    GEUS, Copenhagen K
    Merja Itavaara VTT Finland
    Eric Trably INRA –Narbonne France
    Rainer Meckenstock University of Duisburg-Essen Germany
    Manfred Kircher Universität Tübingen, Tübingen
    CLIB2021, Düsseldorf
    Hermann Heipieper Helmholtz Centre for
    Environmental Research − UFZ
    Nicolas Kalogerakis
    Daniel Mamais
    Technical University of Crete
    National Technical University of Athens
    Katalin Belafi-Bako
    Gabor Rakhely
    University of Pannonia, Veszprem
    University of Szeged, Szeged
    George O'Malley BioRefinery Ireland, Newport Ireland
    Mauro Majone
    Alessandro Sidoli
    University of Rome, Rome
    Italian Biotech Industry Association, Milan
    Korneliusz Miksch
    Jan W Dobrowolski
    Łukasz Chrzanowski
    The Silesian University of Technology, Gliwice
    AGH Unv. of Science & Technology, Krakow
    Poznan University of Technology, Poznan
    Maria Reis
    Bruno Sommer Ferreira
    University Nova de Lisboa, Lisboa
    Portuguese Ass. Biotech Industries, Lisboa
    Maria Gavrilescu
    Michaela D. Stanescu
    Gheorghe Asachi
    Technical University of Iasi, Iasi
    Aurel Vlaicu University, Arad
    Katarina Dercova Slovak University of Technology, Bratislava Slovak Republic
    Victor de Lorenzo
    Joan Garcia
    CSIC, Madrid
    Unv. Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona
    Sara Sjoling
    Lilia Maria Ahrné
    Sodertorn University, Stockholm
    Hans Peter Kohler EAWAG, Dübendorf Switzerland
    Piet Lens UNESCO-IHE, Delft The Netherlands
    Steven A. Banwart University of Sheffield, Sheffield United Kingdom

    Experts from outside Europe
    Name Affiliation Country
    Vladimir Popov Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow Russia
    Fazilet Vardar Sukan Ege University, Izmir Turkey
    Vladimir Elisashvili Durmishidze Institute of Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Tbilisi Georgia
    Hector Poggi-Varaldo CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico Mexico
    Jose O. Beserra Carioca Federal University of Ceará - UFC Brazil
    Hanan Malkawi Yarmouk University Jordan
    Yasser R Abdel-Fattah Mubarak City for Scientific Research and Technology Applications Egypt
    Ameur Cherif University of Tunis Tunisia
    Pedro J. Alvarez Rice University, Houston, TX USA
    Bulent Icgen Middle East Technical University, Ankara Turkey

    Experts representing other institutions
    Eugenia OlguinPresident of International Society of Environmental Biotechnology (ISEB)
    Maurizio Petruccioli President of International Association Mediterranean Agro-industrial Waste (IAMAW)
    Hisao OhtakePresident of Environmental Biotechnology section of the Asian Federation of Biotechnology (AFOB)
    Eliora RonGeneral Secretary of EAM & Chair of BAM section of IUMS
    Roberto De PhilippisPresident of the International Society for Applied Phycology
    Teresa LettieriEuropean Commission, DG Joint Research Centre, Ispra, Italy
    Laura GiulianoMediterranean Science Commission (CIESM), Monaco
    James PhilipOECD, Paris

    Created by the EFB Team

    Copyright © 2019 European Federation of Biotechnology