Section Board

The Section Board is keen to welcome new members. It especially seeks to recruit younger scientists ready to make their debut on the international stage; or individuals who are keen to organise an activity such as a workshop or specialist symposium, or to contribute to the EFB European Congresses of Biotechnology. The current membership, and their responsibilities, are listed below. The Section Chairman (e-mail [email protected]) would be pleased to hear from others who are keen to become involved in helping with the organisation of Section activities.

  Louise Horsfall image


  Tim Overton image


  Jon Marles-Wright image



  Cecilia A Roque image

Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

  Neil Dixon image

University of Manchester, UK

  Jean Marie François image

INSA-Toulouse, France

  Alexander Frey image

Aalto University, Finland

  Pengcheng Fu  image

University of Limerick, Ireland

  Jussi Jäntti image

VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland

  Katrin Messerschmidt image

University of Potsdam, Germany

  Marjan De Mey image

Ghent University, Belgium

  Peter Neubauer image

TU Berlin, Germany

  Jens Schrader image

DECHEMA –Forschungsinstitut, Germany

  Urartu Seker image

Bilkent University, Turkey

  Barbara Di Ventura image

University of Heidelberg, Germany

  Martin Warren image

University of Kent, UK

Heleen De Wever image

Flemish Institute of Technological Res. Belgium

Advisory Board

  • Tony Hitchcock.
    Cobra Biologics, UK
  • Diethard Mattanovich.
    BOKU, Austria
  • Victor de Lorenzo.
    CNB, Spain
  • Jens Nielsen.
    Chalmers, Sweden

Communications Team

  • Matthew Edmundson.
    University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Ian Eggington.
    University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Virginia Echavarri-Bravo.
    University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Konstantinos Vavitsas.
    University of Queensland, Australia

Terms of reference

The section is governed by a section board, comprising:

  • A chair and a secretary (or two co-chairs, each of whom also act as co-secretaries);
  • A treasurer;
  • An industrial liaison manager;
  • and a number of other members without title.

In addition, there is a section advisory board, the function of which is to offer advice and support to the members of the section board.

The section board will meet at least once a year.

The section board will be elected annually at the AGM. Nominations for members of the section board will be held 1 month before the AGM.

The section will organise events such as meetings and conferences. The major features of these activities are:

  • They are international in scope and focused specifically on Europe;
  • They are interdisciplinary in nature, encompassing any area within the fields of bioengineering and bioprocessing;
  • They promote participation from researchers, scientists and engineers at all career stages; and
  • They involve all sectors such as academia, industry, government agencies and research institutes.

Funds raised by the section will be used to fund section activities and pay section management expenses.